Copa América

Copa América is a football tournament between South American countries, in which Argentina, Brazil along with Uruguay has been the most successful in the tournament. A lot of people are of the opinion that the best football is being played in South America, and it is easy to understand why when watching the likes of Lionel Messi and Neymar play. The most common form of betting in football is full time results, double chance, the right result, half/full time and Asian handicap. Betting companies has always had a good variety of betting options leading up to and during Copa América. The tournament is relevant to all lovers of the sport. South America is the cradle of football and it has nurtured several true football­artists over the years. Betting companies are well aware of the huge interest for the tournament, and therefore they offer generous free bets, promotions and campaigns ­and the easiest way to get to this is through this page. Here you will also be able to read up on relevant news and articles related to the tournament. 

The Copa América Conmebol is the South American equivalent to the UEFA, and they arrange the Copa América every four years. The tournament has been played since 1916, which makes it the oldest continental championship in the world, and since 1993 there are 12 nations participating. Two out of the competing 12 nations get invited by CONCACAF, which is the Central ­ North America's and the Caribbeans football association. The tournament has a female equivalent called Copa América Femenina, and this one was started up in 1991. The Copa América is played every four years, one year after the World Cup. Uruguay is the nation with most winning titles, 15 in total. Right behind them is Argentina with 14 titles and Brazil with 8 titles. Paraguay and Peru has two titles each, while Bolivia, Colombia and Chile has one title each. Ecuador and Venezuela has yet to win the Copa América. The upcoming tournament in 2016 will be held in the USA. The tournament is therefore played two years in a row, and the reason for this is the 100th anniversary, which also comes with a temporary name change to Copa América Centenario. It has also been decided that Brazil will host the tournament in 2019. Colombia, Perú, Venezuela, Argentina and Chile have been host countries since 2001. Chile also won the tournament when they were hosting it, in 2015, after a penalty win vs. Argentina. Copa América Centenario is played as a way of celebrating the world's oldest football tournaments 100th birthday. This time, the tournament gets an increase of four teams. The teams already participating will be the host country USA, Mexico, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Perú, Uruguay, Venezuela, Jamaica and Costa Rica. At the time of writing two teams remain and they will be revealed on the 8th of January 2016. Panama and Cuba are in the qualifiers, along with Trinidad, Tobago and Haiti. 

Published: 2015-12-23

Share post