It is said that Rugby was invented the very moment William Webb Ellis decided to grab the ball with his hands during the 1823 football match at Rugby School. Other contributions to the creation of the sport is Blackheath FC:s departure from the Football Association 1863, the founding of Rugby Football Union 1871 along with Northern Rugby Football League (since 1922 Rugby Football League). Over the years Rugby Union and Rugby League have developed in different directions, they now differ so much that they are considered separate sports. If you're interested in betting on Rugby, then you should at least be aware that Rugby Union and Rugby League are not the same sport.

The rules of Rugby Union and Rugby League differ quite a bit, for example in terms of number of players on the field and the point system. Since Rugby Union is international and has a world championship it has grown to be bigger than Rugby League. Some Arenas’ that you should know about are; Murray Stadium in Edinburgh, Twickenham Stadium in London, Millennium Stadium in Cardiff and Aviva Stadium in Dublin. A few players that are really prolific include; Richie McCaw, Dan Carter, Brian O’Driscoll, Jonah Lomu, Joost van der Westhuizen, Tim Horan, Shane Williams, John Eales and Jonny Wilkinson.

Several betting companies offer odds for both Rugby Union and Rugby League. If you prefer playing on the aforementioned then match winner, 1X2 handicap, halftime results, handicap and halftime with most points are all great betting options. If you prefer Rugby League you will have to settle for a smaller market for odds. Common options that you’ll find with different betting companies are handicap and money-line betting for Rugby League. Note that these are all just markets that we tend to find at the different betting companies and should not be considered as anything set in stone, and it can all vary between the different betting companies and also from week to week.

If we have now successfully inspired you to get out there and bet on rugby, you will need to keep track of the different tournaments out there, including the Rugby World Cup, the Women’s Rugby World Cup, the Six Nations Championship, the Women’s Six Nations Championship, The Rugby Championship, the Canada Cup, the Churchill Cup, the FIRA Women’s European Championship, the European Nations Cup, the Pacific Nations Cup, the Nations Cup and the Asian 5 Nations. The tournaments are either arranged every year, every other or every fourth year. It is only the Rugby World Cup and the Women’s Rugby World Cup that are arranged every fourth year and the Canada Cup is held every other year. All the other tournaments are yearly events.

Share post


Double your winnings with Betway’s Rugby League betting special

Free Bet Rugby 28 May 2017 - 22 July 2017

Place a Win/Draw/Win bet on selected Rugby League matches and if the team you back is losing at half time and wins the match, then Betway are offering to double your winnings with ... Read more